• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How would paramedics/EMTs React To This?

So, here is the scene:

The main character delivered a pizza to the house of a shapeshifter in the form of a human. It grabs him and tries to push him into the abandoned house he lives in, but he escapes. He gets in his car and speeds away and sees the creature go on all fours and chase him. He then goes back to his workplace in panic, trying to tell everybody what happened. He is having a panic attack and passes out. He wakes up just as the paramedics arrive.

In the story, it is a necessity that he doesn't go to the hospital. How would the paramedics in this scene react to him waking up before they get to them, and how would they determine that he doesn't need to be hospitalized? What would their dialogue look like? I've never written paramedics before and don't have much knowledge about how they work.

EDIT: Sorry, I put this thread in the wrong section. If someone could move it to the Research section that would be great.

Geo

Troubadour
Hello, I worked as a voluntary life guard (this was more than 15 years ago, so things may have changed a lot).

Here an extract of what we were told to do if the victim of a fall, accidental drowning, or seizure recovered before the paramedics arrived on the scene:

"...If the victim recovers before medical personnel arrive, he/she should seek medical advice as soon as possible. Any loss of consciousness after a head injury, even if only for a short time, requires immediate evaluation by a health-care professional..."