• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

I need cover design help

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
Hey scribes!

I'm not a digital artist. I don't know the first thing about photoshop or gimp, or even paint. I'm pretty much inept at it all. NO I'm COMPLETELY inept.

So I have a cover, but I want to see what I can do with digital art. Would anyone help me with this project? Last year, I posted a cover that was half done, and some nice folks tinkered with it briefly, and they did some pretty cool stuff in a few minutes. Do we have any talented folks here who would lend me their time and help me design some covers?

Thanks, I appreciate it. I can post an example of what I have, if it would be helpful. The painting is rather large and meant to be scanned and shrunk to make a standard paperback cover. Right now, I have digital pictures of the painting. This was an experiment to see what I could come up with in 20 hours, and I'm just about finished, but it's just a picture, not a cover. I'm not really sure how to make a cover, nor what makes a good cover. It's entirely possible I've completely wasted my time, but I'm okay with that. I'd just like to talk with someone who understands more about cover design than I do, because I can't seem to understand what makes a cover exciting and tempting to a reader.

Nimue

Auror
Well, I don't know a whole lot about cover design (beyond the old axiom "I know what I like"), but I have some experience with digital art and graphic design. I'd like to see your example, at least, and I hope I could help, depending on the scale of the project.

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
Here's what I have so far. I've included the borders, which won't be part of the cover. Anyways, hope that gives you an idea, though it isn't finished.

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
I would appreciate a PM. I can send you the pics people edited for me, because I think they're a better picture of what's in my mind to go on. THANKS!!