• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

I'm new to writing.

Autumn Ren

Acolyte
I'm very excited to be here and I hope to learn a lot and share what I'm doing. I'm 18F and have been interested in writing for years but am finally doing it. I'm working on a dark fantasy novel as my first book and it's coming along very well but I really don't know what I'm doing yet. 😅

Help?

Azul-din

Troubadour
Salutations from the other end of the age spectrum. Looking forward to hearing about the novel. Can you give us a quick peek? What exactly are you having trouble with?

Autumn Ren

Acolyte
Can you give us a quick peek? What exactly are you having trouble with?

I'd love to but it's so rough right now, and it's graphic. I need to see where it's going, I'm at 44,000 words right now and I'm only in act 2 now, so this'll take a while.

Do you think having three main characters is too many?

Azul-din

Troubadour
I'd love to but it's so rough right now, and it's graphic. I need to see where it's going, I'm at 44,000 words right now and I'm only in act 2 now, so this'll take a while.

No, of course not. It gives you a chance to show three different pov's , jump back and forth in time, etc. Are the three characters together or separate?

Welcome!

Enjoy the ride of your first novel! There's nothing quite like it. Writing it is the best education in writing novels you can get. When you're done, set it aside for a while and then take a look at it to see what worked and what didn't.

I try to start with one main character who meets companions in his or her journey, the main character might be a merchant or a occultist and as he or she explores the fantasy world, he or she meets others with similar interests who become main characters as well.

Autumn Ren

Acolyte
No, of course not. It gives you a chance to show three different pov's , jump back and forth in time, etc. Are the three characters together or separate?