• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Looking for a lore designer / writer for a MTG set

ryder052

Hello everyone,

First of all, so much great discussion and thought fodder here :)

I'm a veteran Magic: The Gathering card designer. Currently working on a realistic custom set with a complex world and lore. Would anybody be interested in helping be flesh out the setting and/or create an appealing storyline?

I'd be happy to share more details if I sparked your interest!

Happy New Year!

Aldarion

Archmage
What kind of help do you need? I am working on my own world, so I'm not going to be writing you a setting from ground up, but if you get stuck on an issue or something, I'd be more than happy to help.

ryder052

I have a somewhat-general concept of the world and a pretty good understanding of the five factions fighting for influence.
I'd like somebody to help me with the details, there is a lot of ground to cover and I just don't have enough spare time to do it all by myself within a reasonable time frame.

As an example, I'm currently defining supernatural beings that are objects of a cult. These beings are of primal nature, divine beasts of sorts, vastly different from "traditional" angels and demons. The only thing that I know of that can relate is Fenrir from Norse mythology. I have defined three major "gods", now I should define some lower-level beings (angel-level). Details.

Another example, there is an organization of business middle-men, overseeing most of the high-profile deals taking place. There is a shadowy figurehead behind it, maintaining a high level of scrutiny for a reason, clearly waiting for something. What could that be? What is the story behind it? This is obviously more than just details, it's an important piece of lore. A much needed one.