• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Main plot headache

Montinger

Dreamer
Hello writers!

I am currently working on a new fantasy project - slightly Harry Potter inspired with a magic society living parallell to our own, and kids going to a magic school.

I have done a lot of world building recently for my project, and I feel like I know my main characters well - There are five of them and all of them have their different challenges and story arcs that I feel ready to start actually writing about. I've been thinking about the plot in a sort of character driven way. Since I am a psychologist I just happened to give them each a set of psychological issues to deal with, which is what drives most of the story/stories (?).

I have previously been working with a different fantasy project that was never finished, because I didn't know where to go with the whole thing. I ended up with subplots but no main plot to bind it all together, and gave up. I feel more confident about the new project, but I feel I really have to plot an outline this time, especially the overall plot.

At this point, I feel like I could sum up the plot of each of the 5 characters if I focus on one at the time. And I also know a bit about how their stories intertwine. But I can't sum up the whole, overall story - because somehow there isn't one, and there isn't really a clear protagonist or "conflict" yet. I feel a bit confused about how I ended up here and how to move on. I think I'm being a bit stunted by my unwillingness to "just create a villain to be defeated", like I somehow expect to create a super unique overall plot if I just think about it long enough. I've become disturbingly aware of that most stories are very similar if you just break them down to one or a few sentences, and perhaps I am a bit hung up on that.

Do you have any words of wisdom to share? :)

Karlin

Troubadour