• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Organic quartz as armor?

Edankyn

Minstrel
So I've done some research on the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, and I have an idea where one of my species consumes minerals to make an armor like skin. Quartz is fairly high on the Mohs scale and is the second most abundant mineral in the earth's continental crust, so it would be readily available for this sort of use. But I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Anyone with a better grasp on armor, minerals or both care to weigh in and share your insight?

Penpilot

Staff
Article Team
I'm no expert, but a quick google search supports my suspicion, that although quartz is hard it is also brittle. It's mentioned in this wiki article Bonding in solids - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

One of the things I think makes metal good for armor is that it warps instead of shatters when struck. It'd be pretty bad if armor shatters like glass when struck by a mace or something.

Now this isn't to say that your species can't have quartz armor, but I would take into consideration the brittle nature of quartz. Maybe the quartz is always in a state of constantly flaking off but is also constantly growing like fingernails. Maybe because the quartz is constantly growing, your species has to sand away at the old surface quartz so it doesn't join together become one big mass preventing them from moving.

Ankari

Hero Breaker
So I've done some research on the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, and I have an idea where one of my species consumes minerals to make an armor like skin. Quartz is fairly high on the Mohs scale and is the second most abundant mineral in the earth's continental crust, so it would be readily available for this sort of use. But I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Anyone with a better grasp on armor, minerals or both care to weigh in and share your insight?

Heh, I have the same concept for one of my races. Here is an example