• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

POV: Something I guess I'm still learning

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
I thought I knew what I meant when discussing POV but I guess there's a whole lot I haven't explored. Now I know how MOST books are written. I also know there's plenty of "rule-breaking" that is very successful. I just wasn't familiar with the wording to properly express what I was talking about. For example, I try to write a deep third POV with multiple characters. I always termed that Deep Third Limited, acknowledging an alternating perspective, but now I learned that is a version of omniscient--that POV has an "X axis" and Y axis". Interesting. Omniscient/ limited is one direction and subjective/ objective the other. I'd never thought about it before. Rather, my talk about POV took on more of a noble title-type length of descriptors. I'm writing in Deep third limited, subjective and alternating. HAHA Okay, I never SAID that, but I knew what I meant.

here's the Wikipedia break-down and I hope you find it as interesting as I did. At least it allows me to communicate clearer about POV, rather than relying on descriptors or worse, grunts and hand signals, like I felt like I was doing sometimes. Ah language, don't fail me now...

Narrative mode - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hi,

Interesting. I write mostly third person subjective which is a headache in some ways because I'm constantly having to work out what my character knows at any one point, even though the reader from having read other points of view characters knows much more. I'm sort of wondering though if because I use multiple POV's it should be called a form of omniscient! Now I have another thing to worry about!

Cheers, Greg.

Penpilot

Staff
Article Team