• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

whether I should create a new world or use the original world we live in?

Chaotic_Asura

I have a story in mind that I want to write, but I don't know whether I should create a complete new world to write it or should I use our current world structure (earth and continents, you know) to use in my story? The reason why I am asking this question is because in the story, I may to show some particular organisation as superior (some will say it as good, but since everybody has there own opinion of good and bad, I won't use that term) and other as inferior ? I don't want to offend any organisation while writing so that is why I am asking.
It may sound a silly question but I am asking it since this is my first time writing. Please tell me what should I do?

I think it’s fun when there is a blend of the two. But I do like fantasy worlds too. But they are my preferences. What are yours? What do you prefer to read / watch?

Chaotic_Asura

I think it’s fun when there is a blend of the two. But I do like fantasy worlds too. But they are my preferences. What are yours? What do you prefer to read / watch?
I prefer reading fantasy genre, and this world that I will build is just needed for the starting arc of the story and I want to use an urban setting to do it. And our world is the best setting to use. Ofc, I also hope to bring fantastical elements to the world as the story unfolds, u know like how they say that beneath the current reality of the world lies an unfamiliar reality, something like that.

pmmg

Myth Weaver
It wont matter whether you write in our current world, or one you make up. The offended types will still be offended anyway. So...write what you want, and give the story what it needs. Does it need a made up world?

Sounds like it doesn't. The questions for you is 'is it true?, what you want to write, and do you have the courage to write it?