• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Working To A Schedule?

Devora

Sage
Though I honestly dislike the idea of scheduling my life (i'd feel like i would have no freedom), I realize that if i want to get more output as a writer i have to figure out ways to dedicate time to write and being productive with myself (i.e. exercise, sleep, etc.).

What's everyone's opinion on this concept, and to those that do what are the pros and cons of a work schedule?

I find it helps me to have a daily goal, even if that goal is just 200 words a day or 15 minutes of writing a day. The act of sitting down, every day, and writing improves your productivity, and helps you to conquer blocks. It makes writing into a habitual act rather than an inspired state of mind. (Or, sometimes, it enables you to induce that state of mind.)

There's no harm in trying. It might not work for you, but it might. I suggest just sitting down to write at the same time each day. If inspiration comes, write. If it doesn't, write anyway. I've sat in front of the computer writing "I don't know what to write...I need something to write. Words words words words words..." But, when I wasn't writing rubbish like that, I produced some of my best work.

It's also essential to set aside time for reading, exercise, and relaxing. You need free time to observe the world and contemplate as much as you need time to write. I find that, after very productive periods of writing, I need downtime to recharge and gather new ideas. So, there's no harm in taking breaks. If your time is limited maybe you could alternate between devoting your writing time to actual writing, and devoting it to reading, journaling, getting out and observing, etc.

What works for you and what works for me will be entirely different things, though, so I encourage experimenting.

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver