• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Mathematicians Take a Stand

Steerpike

Felis amatus
An article about publishing - this time academic publishing. I don't know how many of you have been following the boycott of Elsevier that started late last year, but this relate to that. Another example of how the new landscape in the digital age is shaking up the practices of established publishers.

The link opens a PDF file of the article:

http://arxiv.org/pdf/1204.1351v1.pdf

Ivan

Minstrel
Interesting. As a student I can't say how many times I have seen a useful article that costs as much as a hard-back book merely to have a peek at an electronic copy. I wonder how much of this actually goes to the people who researched and wrote the article, and how much goes to now-unnecessary overhead; while it is understandable that those who worked to produce this information should be rewarded, it is somewhat draconian to do so by severely limiting access to that information.

Fnord

Troubadour
It's just representative of another death gasp of a dying and obsolete industry. With institutions like Harvard working on putting their entire library online, the exchange of ideas is going to become more and prevalent. And like the music and movie industry, those goods are no longer rivalrous and excludable in the internet age. The old business model just doesn't look sustainable.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
I'm not sure journal authors receive royalties for those publications. And looking at the generic publishing agreement on Elsevier's web site, they assign copyright to Elsevier and get a license back to use the article for limited purposes.

Fnord

Troubadour