• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Any car people around?

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Bought a '94 BMW 5 series this weekend. It is mechanically sound, but has some cosmetic issues with respect to the interior. Not many, but it is a little bit of a project car (got it at a steal well under book value). I can do a lot of the interior work myself - simply a matter of replacing some of the components. One seat with need a little bit of upholstery work, however, and I've never done any of that. Any ideas from those who have dealt with such things? It is complicated to do it properly? Am I better off hiring someone to do it?

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
I sew for a living, though not car seats, I'd hire someone. I used to do cars (mostly because all my friends and I couldn't afford good cars when we were younger) and interiors are the hardest bit. I'd call and get some quotes. A seat ought to not run you too much, and you can pick your own fabric.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Yeah, that's good advice, anihow. In this case, the seats are leather. I can get the proper material, but I have a feeling I wouldn't be able to do a very good job of it. Might as well hire someone who knows what they're about. I can take care of the rest.

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team