• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Anyone know how to write accurate battle plans?

blondie.k

Minstrel
I have the trouble that I am not an expert in writing in a way that makes a battle plan sound legit. I tend to make it sound corny and weak. Does anyone know how to help with that? Know what kind of questions I need to ask myself? Or what I need to look for in a battle plan? Thx :)

Yora

Maester
Well, this is a science and art that has been constantly refined as the rules of the game have been changing for the last 4,000 years.

The most sound, but probably not very helpful suggestion would be to study the weapons and tactics of the time period that you use as your main historic reference. But I think that amount of research probably is only worth it if you plan to write a series about generals.

To give good advice for this question, all information you have already established would be very helpful. What time period are you basing the battle on? Who is fighting? Where are they fighting? What armies do they have? What do they want to accomplish with the battle? Anything that you can share about the scenario would be useful.

blondie.k

Minstrel
To give good advice for this question, all information you have already established would be very helpful. What time period are you basing the battle on? Who is fighting? Where are they fighting? What armies do they have? What do they want to accomplish with the battle? Anything that you can share about the scenario would be useful.

It's a fantasy fiction book so the time period would be more renaissance like. The battle will take place on castle grounds and the town as well. The battle is one that is for defense from an ancient enemy who wants to reverse a law set in place by the country-wide council. Does that help somewhat?

Yora

Maester
So we have a castle defense? That means the big question here is cannons or no cannons? :D