• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Different Points of View To write in?

Hi all,
When im writing i usually tend to write in the first or third person view. I have written one small novel where i had a character recite a story about previous events, But i am a fairly amateur writer so i would relly appreciate any different points of view to write from that some more experienced members may have found usefull or intriguing. Im mainly just wanting to broaden my horizons.

Thanks all any advice is greatly appreciated.

Penpilot

Staff
Article Team
Actually first and third are what most published novels are written in. There are a few novels written in second person.

Now, if what you mean by different points of view is the type of person the story is told through, there are tons of different points of view stories have been told from.

Ray Bradbury wrote a story where the main pov character was a house. http://www.elizabethskadden.com/files/therewillcomesoftrainsbradbury.pdf

E.O. Wilson wrote a story from the pov of a ant colony
E. O. Wilson: Trailhead : The New Yorker

Interesting, Thanks for the links, I shall be sure to check them out, However I was meaning first and third person. I was just wondering if there were any more i should know about.
I think il stick to first or third though as its the easiest, and maybe advance as my skill gets better.
Thanks for the links:)

Erica

Minstrel
don't forget omniscient. I personally hate it, but some people really thrive on it.