• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Do you think this is a good or bad idea?

There are quite a few projects I am working on and I know I am a very slow writer. I was thinking about taking some time to work on one project and then work on another and get back to the first later to get fresh ideas. Since I am such a slow writer I was thinking of waiting to try and publish any of my finished or nearly finished novels until I have a few finished or close to completion. This way I wouldn't feel so much pressure to completely finish one novel and then have to start a new one because I'm afraid it would just take so long.

So for example let's say I have novels A B and C. A is almost fished and so is B and C is ready. I would try to get C published and when it does I could start working on novel D and finish up A and B without too much pressure for time because most of it is already done.

(if this belongs in publishing please feel free to move it)

Last edited:

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
Tough call because there are so many variables. It seems like your determining factor is not maximizing revenue so much as providing yourself with motivation. Probably only you can truly answer what motivates you more.

work on another and get back to the first later to get fresh ideas.

It would also help to get an idea of your process. For example, the following is how I wish to proceed, for the most part, in the future.

Stage 1 - Rough draft
Stage 2 - Readable draft
Stage 3 - Send out for beta reading
Stage 4 - Pick up beta reader comments
Stage 5 - Let the novel percolate for 8 weeks while thinking about it as little as possible.
Stage 6 - Read the novel cover to cover to spot pacing and story issues.
Stage 7 - Make final edits.
Stage 8 - Send to editor
Stage 9 - Pick up editor comments
Stage 10 - Publish!

Xaysai

Inkling
I'm answering this from a place of "attention span".