• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Greetings and Hello

Howdy,

I'm a long term scribbler and some-times writer, who has experienced a bit of the whole post-uni blues - where my muse has decided to take a brief holiday to Jupiter and has left me high and dry. After some thoughts, I've decided that the main reason behind it is that I have no one to really talk to about my writing, so the desire to actually write has left.

So... here I am! I saw the ad on facebook and thought why the hell not :) I'm actually a MA student - with a wide range of tastes including fantasy, sci-fi and historical. My main inspirations for fantasy are Game of Thrones, Farseer/Tawny Man, Wheel of Time and Neil Gaiman - whilst for Sci Fi i adore Dan Simmons, Alastair Reynolds and Kevin J Anderson.

For historical I mainly enjoy stuff like Umberto Eco - but I won't bore you with that :). I'm also a great fan of lovecraftian mythos and the work of Fritz Lieber.

Now that the boring stuff is out of the way: lets discuss my writing! Or... the complete lack of it. In essence, this past year and a half has been painful for my work: i've managed to complete precisely zero stories, despite having multiple plans. The only writing groups in my area are quite considerable NOT like my university group; with a focus on stories concerning nans in cottages... where the most exciting thing that might occur is an inpromtu visit to a health spa. My writing has mainly been small flash pieces, ranging from the surreal to the downright horrific (both in genre and quality).

I am hoping that getting involved in this community might change all that, and I can get down to some serious writing of fiction that can hopefully form the basis of a portfolio of published stories and blog.