• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Looking for note-taking software

Cambosaurus

Acolyte
I'm quite new to writing and have recently started on a new project but have quickly realized that word is not the right tool to be using for notetaking and organizing my ideas. Is there any free software that anyone would recommend as a replacement?

Penpilot

Staff
Article Team
Take a look at yWriter and see if it floats your boat. I used to use it a lot to organize my thoughts for a project. It's not the slickest looking program, but it's very functional.

www.spacejock.com

I've since moved on to Scrivener, which I had to buy. It's very similar, but it's more refined with some extra bells and whistles. They have a try before you buy free trial. And They used to have discounts for completing NaNoWriMo.

Scrivener | Literature & Latte

Oh, there's also WikiPad. It's a personal wiki program, where you can have multiple documents that link to one another via hyperlinks. It's open source.

WikidPad - wiki notebook for Windows/Linux/Mac OS

I use OneNote. I think I get it for free with my Microsoft Office subscription, but it might just be free in general.

Another good, generic note taking program is Evernote, which does the same things as OneNote, roughly.

Cambosaurus

Acolyte
Take a look at yWriter and see if it floats your boat. I used to use it a lot to organize my thoughts for a project. It's not the slickest looking program, but it's very functional.

www.spacejock.com

I've since moved on to Scrivener, which I had to buy. It's very similar, but it's more refined with some extra bells and whistles. They have a try before you buy free trial. And They used to have discounts for completing NaNoWriMo.

Scrivener | Literature & Latte

Oh, there's also WikiPad. It's a personal wiki program, where you can have multiple documents that link to one another via hyperlinks. It's open source.

WikidPad - wiki notebook for Windows/Linux/Mac OS