• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Looking for Pricing Information for Illustrations

phillipsauthor

Minstrel
Hello, artist types!

I have a question for you.

I definitely don't draw, but I have a friend who does. She's willing to draw some illustrations for a set of short stories I'm writing, and I want to pay her for this service. However, I don't know how much is reasonable. She's a college student, art minor, who doesn't generally do freelancing.

Given that, what would be a fair amount to charge for designing and drawing a set of four shield crests?

Thanks so much.

Weaver

Sage
I don't know that there's any kind of "standard" pay for this kind of thing; there wasn't when I was an art student. However, as a way to get a rough estimate, ask her how long she thinks it would take her to draw these. Figure about $20/hour (art is a skill, and skilled work of any kind ought to get at least that much), and go from there. (My own guess is that, depending on complexity, medium, etc., this job ought to be worth around $50, more or less.)

You could always ask her how much she'd like to get paid for it. If you feel that the amount she quotes is too low (we do often have difficulty asking for what we feel our work is worth, or even difficulty believing our work is worth any kind of 'real pay'), offer her more; I doubt she'll mind.

Something else you could do (research work on your part) is find out what professional illustrators would charge for the same kind of thing, and figure what the average rate is amongst them.

jeracoo

Acolyte
It really depends on her level of skill, some artists take 50 hours to create something that a more talented artist can create in 10. My personal experience is that higher level artists are cheaper and create better work.

How large and detailed are the crests? If highly detailed I'd probably say around $400.

Last edited:

Nihal

Vala