• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

My Mom Likes My Book...

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
Hi Scribes!

So, I sent my mother the first two chapters of my book I'm rewriting. I was really nervous. Firstly, because the book is stuffed full of questionably tasteful content. Prostitutes, drugs, a poker game, debauchery in every form. And that's just chapter one. And the language is stuff I don't say in real life, and I've got something of a colorful vocabulary in that way...

I've been writing since 2001, and I didn't even TELL my family that I wrote at all, until 2013. Only my mom new. And I basically had to tell her because I made a Facebook author page...and I mean, she's not dumb...so it was tell her about it and ask her to like the page, or try to keep it a secret like the guinea pig I kept in my closet for three days because she said I couldn't have it.

Anyways, so I have talked to her a little about writing and why I do it and stuff, but it was all sort of surface stuff. I didn't get into the specifics, like I do with my writer friends. But she commented once on a Facebook post, where I quoted part of a scene, and she said she loved it, and that my passage felt like it was a "real book". I smiled. "Yeah, Mom," I said. "That's my goal. I'm a real writer...been doing it a long time."

So after a couple conversations, we somehow established that she'd like to have a look at something.

Whoa. OMG. What to send?!?!?

Do I send her something cute and light-hearted? I have a couple shorts that fit the bill.

Do I send a psychological sort of story, set in the real world? I mean, just so it isn't an investment of her time, having to learn a fantasy setting?

I didn't know what to do. I sent her a grab bag of short stories, I believe. Sort of one from each category. Cute, clever, weird, and funny.