• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

My name on here is Newtofantasy--and that's no lie!

I joined Mythic Scribes 5 months ago because Sheila praised it. And I know she was right. But at the time, I was trying to put out a rewrite--total: title, cover, edit--of my historical novel, and that was taking a lot of my time. I self-published.

Now however I'm back to my "Comic Fantasy" or spoof of things I find irritating and using fantasy as my vehicle. And wait, wait, please--I don't use it as either a soapbox nor am I pedantic--or at least I hope not! At any rate, I'm trying not to be.

I came back because I truly could use your help. Besides being a total novice at fantasy (I admit I've never read much) but I'm enjoying my first trip into it. Only I do have several problems that are taking away my confidence in my spoof: mainly, I'm using it to stick a pin in what I consider the over-egotistical beliefs taught in Brotherhoods and Secret Societies. Mainly that belonging to any such group can encourage a mindset that fosters belief in the superiority of the group and strong secret contempt for anyone outside of it. Even to being above the law. The present U.S "Secret" Service scandal comes to mind. As does one of a more or less "secret" part of a well-known brotherhood that dealt in underage prostitutes illegally being brought into the US--it's not a secret any more although to my knowledge there have never been any prosecutions.

But I do not touch any of that. Just use some of their own words in their/my rituals.

To that end I use actual rituals that are mainly unrecognizable except to insiders of certain groups, but are really ripped up! And I hope funny for the rest of us. I use acronyms, puns, proper names that have other meanings (sorry I'm not so educated that I know the term for that), etc.