• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

New member, book almost in the can.

Good morning, members. I go by the handle "The Tourist." I am an abject rookie writer, the quintessential aging guy with a book stuck in his head. I decided to take some time and finally write it.

I'd like some help with ideas and mythology to "write against type." I have character who is of Nephilim lineage. In other words, he is a modern mortal, like the guy you'd see at the grocery story. While he is not the hero of own story, his future offspring might be. Angels have discussed this accident of birth because an inequity was found within him, a touch of "good." Odd, he's your bad boy.

All of the reesearch I can find depicts the Nephilim as both "fallen" and extinct. Granted, any plot line can exist in any fantasy. But does this premise immediately violate accepted confines of modern storytelling? Akin to a zombie being a poet laureate.

My initial take was that since I, too, am a bad boy, I can do what I wish. But now the book is coming to fruition. People are reading it, I'm in a polishing stage. In this light, I read a book called "Angelology," only to find there's a inner circle of supposed experts, and I'm treading mud onto their carpets.

Other than google research and established books, can you suggest materials that migh be of assistance. Thank you.

atkogirl85

Dreamer
There is a lot of different theories about Nephillum... So depends on what direction you go really.

Do you mean Angelology by Trussoni? If so, are you worried about the backlash from the 'experts' of fans? Or other 'fanatics'? :wink:

Nephillum are said to be fallen angels, demon hunting warriors, giants both humanoid and demonoid, hybrid offspring of humans and angels, aliens.... So I'm pretty sure you can do what you like.

There is a lot of different theories about Nephillum...So I'm pretty sure you can do what you like.

Thank you for the response.