• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

On expository clumps, first drafts, and self criticism

One of my biggest downfalls as a writer has alway been my tendency to critique myself as I write. A biggest pet peeve of mine when I read books is what has been called the "expository clump," wherein the author just dumps a ton of information on you at once. (I first saw this term in Ursula K. Leguin's Steering the Craft) I have a degree in English and so I consider myself (perhaps falsely) fairly versed in good literature and what distinguishes good writing from bad.

Therefore, when I work on my stories, I tend to write very, very slowly-- sometimes taking hours just to write a single page. I constantly critique myself:

"Are you serious? That phrase is totally cliched."
"Your character is being inconsistent with something you wrote 200 pages ago. Fix it now, or you can't keep writing."
"This is such a big expository clump you should be shot on site."

My tendency to criticize myself is something I've dealt with my whole life; I've recently been getting counselling to help with that.

So I started up a new story that I had an idea for, and I told myself I was just going to work as feverishly as I could on the first draft as possible, to get it down on paper, and then go over and pick through it and make it like a decent work of writing.

Even though I have not gone back and picked over a paragraph, fixed the grammar in every single sentence, checked the spelling of every single word, or been otherwise OCD, I still find myself getting discouraged. I know that when you first draft a story, you are coming up with ideas and need to write a ton of explanatory stuff down that will not be in that form in your final draft. I still find myself trash talking my writing as I go along, telling myself I'm a horrible writer, that no amount of revision can polish the turd of a paragraph I just wrote.