• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Point of View Writing

BJ Swabb

Sage
So I have been writing my novel series for four years, and I have gotten feed back that I tend to write in both third and first person. I don't even know I do it, and I really don't understand what is the difference and how can I tell how to correct it?

1st person: As I walk over to the stone circle

1st person past tense: When I walked over to the stone circle

3rd person: the man walks over to the stone circle

3rd person past tense: the man walked over to the stone circle

You can have both in writing but it might become confusing for the reader if you switch the tenses without reason or rhyme. Many 3rd person fiction novels are written in the past tense but read as though it’s all happening right now.

BJ Swabb

Sage
1st person: As I walk over to the stone circle

1st person past tense: When I walked over to the stone circle

3rd person: the man walks over to the stone circle

3rd person past tense: the man walked over to the stone circle

You can have both in writing but it might become confusing for the reader if you switch the tenses without reason or rhyme. Many 3rd person fiction novels are written in the past tense but read as though it’s all happening right now.
Okay cool. I use 1st and third quite a bit. Only because I like to describe creatures,characters and what they are doing throughout my series. You would mind looking at my work and see if it works out how it is would you?

Sorry, I’m too time constrained to dedicate to something like this, but feel free to put up a critique request thread on here - keep it short - and you very well may get some feedback on your tenses.

In general it's better for any story to stick to either 1st or 3rd person point of view. If you mix them then people tend to get confused and the change tends to throw people out of the story.