• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Scientific Use of Power?

Blue Milk

I am searching for good combinations/combat strategies for the use of the elementalist (fire, water, earth, air, also includes subelements like lightning, metal, etc.) class to create clever battle scenes that aren't just basic.
For example, if another character is holding a metal weapon and the elementalist of this story strikes lightning, that character is quite literally...toast.

Any other ideas of just strategy in general is accepted, since I'm not very good with that in the first place haha.

Earth, fire, water: hard clay walls, make an army a terra-cotta army.
Air and fire: Flamethrowers with more distance.
Earth and metal: Armor.
Though if you want even more, I'd look into shows like the Avatar (Last Airbender and Korra, not the Airbender movie though) series and Jim Butchers Codex: Alera for good examples of elemental being used for both the mundane and military applications.

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
For example, if another character is holding a metal weapon and the elementalist of this story strikes lightning, that character is quite literally...toast..
But if they know the other side has people that can hurl lightning bolts at them, they will use metal armour or just a wire from weapon to ground to earth themselves and then the bolt will be painful but very survivable.
It really depends on what limitations you are putting in to the story. How powerful and easy is the magic? How well known is it? What countermeasure have been developed?
I like this bit in BtVS...
I miss Drusilla...

TheKillerBs

Maester
For example, if another character is holding a metal weapon and the elementalist of this story strikes lightning, that character is quite literally...toast.