• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Scrivener and Revision

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
I've been using Scrivener for a few years now. I keep finding new approaches. This one looks to be prove useful. It takes advantage of Notes and Synopsis, along with Compile. The useful part comes during the heavy lifting that comes during second and third drafts, where I do a lot of rewriting and can easily get lost in the Weeds of Revision.

First, I use Scrivener to work in scenes. Any one chapter might hold one to several files. These might be separate but related scenes, but they are also sometimes a second or third take on the same scene, fragments that I think belong here, and so on. It's rather a mess. Eventually, all those files get edited into a single file that is one chapter. Each file can have a Synopsis and Notes attached to it. By using Compile, I can print or view only the Notes for the novel, letting me focus on the editing side.

The Synopsis can hold anything. I use it to hold the day (and time, if appropriate) of the action for that scene. This helps me keep chronology straight. In addition I can put in character names for the scene, I also put in a one-line summary of what happens. Just the key. Details go into Notes.

Notes hold my editing notes and can be as long or short as needed. Notes also allow formatting, so I can italicize or whatever, to help me in review. I am finding this to be more useful than Comments, which get tied to specific passage. There's a place for that as well, but what each scene really needs is me talking to myself about what work this particular scene still needs. Comments are best for sentence-level stuff; Notes work best for file (scene)-level stuff.