1. Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us.

Shameless Self-Appreciation Thread

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Flemming Hansen, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Svrtnsse

    Svrtnsse Staff Article Team

    5,520
    2,558
    313
    Kick Ass! :D
     
  2. ThinkerX

    ThinkerX Myth Weaver

    4,473
    1,518
    163
    good for you!
     
  3. Ned Marcus

    Ned Marcus Sage

    241
    119
    43
    Congratulations!
     
  4. Demesnedenoir

    Demesnedenoir Istar

    2,356
    1,416
    163
    The Booklife Review (the Publishers Weekly folks) for Eve of Snows is in for Christmas... ego inflation for the holidays:

    Gripping action scenes, evocative writing, and steady story momentum make the pages fly. The shadows bring a genuine chill with every appearance. The mystery surrounding the banished gods sparks curiosity, and Rice draws a fine line between feral magic and answered prayers. The plot is marked with plenty of surprising twists as Eliles and Ivin confront shadows and the conspiracy within Istinjoln. There is a solid conclusion, but Rice leaves enough unanswered questions and ambiguity to have readers theorizing possibilities and itching for the next installment. This extremely impressive series launch is guaranteed to earn diehard fans.

    Takeaway: The high-stakes plot, fast pacing, and convincing characters will hook epic fantasy readers on this impressive debut.

    Great for fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, R. Scott Bakker’s Prince of Nothing series.

    Full Review is here: Eve of Snows: Sundering the Gods Book One by Lee Rice | BookLife

    My takeaway: This review has the best synopsis of the plot I’ve scene and you can tell the reviewer was paying serious attention.
     
    Ned Marcus and A. E. Lowan like this.
  5. Ned Marcus

    Ned Marcus Sage

    241
    119
    43
    Blue Prometheus is in Kobo's 'Trending Now in Science Fiction and Fantasy' list. And number 14 in the bookstore for the same category.

    A first for me!
     
  6. Demesnedenoir

    Demesnedenoir Istar

    2,356
    1,416
    163
    Oh damn... I just noticed yesterday that the Booklife Review for Eve of Snows is tagged with a little lightning bolt... and just now discovered this means an "Editor's Pick" for "superlative books". The review was killer, but now I'm even more stoked!

    I should say hot lightning damn... as of today EoS is in the finals of the Epic Fantasy Fanatics Readers Choice Awards with the winner announced tomorrow. Four good books remains, so win or not, it's all good!
     
  7. A. E. Lowan

    A. E. Lowan Forum Mom Leadership

    2,087
    1,278
    163
    That's wonderful! So happy to hear it!
     
    Demesnedenoir likes this.
  8. Demesnedenoir

    Demesnedenoir Istar

    2,356
    1,416
    163
    It’s always good when something goes right, heh heh.
     
  9. skip.knox

    skip.knox toujours gai, archie Moderator

    6,520
    4,450
    313
    Congratulations, mate!
     
    Demesnedenoir likes this.
  10. ThinkerX

    ThinkerX Myth Weaver

    4,473
    1,518
    163
    Congrats! That reminds me, I'll have to add book II to the pile...keep plugging away.
     
    Demesnedenoir likes this.
  11. Demesnedenoir

    Demesnedenoir Istar

    2,356
    1,416
    163
    Well, now it just got crazier... Eve of Snows may now officially wear the tag “Winner of the 2019 Epic Fantasy Fanatics Readers Choice Awards.”

    Pestering readers to get the book nominated paid off! LOL.
     
    Prince of Spires likes this.
  12. Pemry Janes

    Pemry Janes Sage

    313
    28
    28
    I finally got my second book published. Very proud of that.
     
  13. Prince of Spires

    Prince of Spires Inkling

    411
    301
    63
    Passed the 50k mark for the first time today. Woot! Of course, there's still at least 15k words left to write. But it's now officially novel size!
     
    A. E. Lowan, Malik and Demesnedenoir like this.
  14. Malik

    Malik Auror

    1,053
    1,231
    163
    Landed another international Bookbub last week. Dragon's Trail was #1 in Kindle Epic Fantasy in Australia for 3 days. That was nice.

    It came out 3 1/2 years ago. I reiterate: "30 Day Cliff, my ass."
    DT 1 AUS 2020 A.jpg





    DT 1 AUS 2020 B.jpg
     
    Svrtnsse, A. E. Lowan and skip.knox like this.
  15. Demesnedenoir

    Demesnedenoir Istar

    2,356
    1,416
    163
    Cool, however the 30-day cliff theory involved Amazon algorithms, not bookbub promos ;)

     
  16. A. E. Lowan

    A. E. Lowan Forum Mom Leadership

    2,087
    1,278
    163
    That is so awesome! We love these books.
     
    Malik likes this.
  17. A. E. Lowan

    A. E. Lowan Forum Mom Leadership

    2,087
    1,278
    163
    Wrote three chapters in three days after a long dry spell.

     
  18. ThinkerX

    ThinkerX Myth Weaver

    4,473
    1,518
    163
    Good for you!

    The dry spell with my rewrite lasted most of the winter. Part other projects, part utter lack of motivation. But key elements have been clicking into place...maybe by May sometime....then on to 'Chimera'....
     
  19. Demesnedenoir

    Demesnedenoir Istar

    2,356
    1,416
    163
    Eve of Snows, now a Bronze Medalist at the IPPY Awards... stumbled on that on their website, the award packets haven’t gone out yet! It’s a broad Fantasy category, and it looks like it’s the top Epic Fantasy. So, two for two for at least medaling in contests so far, LOL.
     
    A. E. Lowan, Svrtnsse and skip.knox like this.
  20. skip.knox

    skip.knox toujours gai, archie Moderator

    6,520
    4,450
    313
    Well done, young Jedi.
     
    Demesnedenoir likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page