• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Using a Pen Name

Addison

Auror
Try a J.K Rowling approach. Instead of using her first and last name she used her first two initials and her last name. Same with C.S Lewis. J.R.R Tolkein. There's many ways you can make a pen name. The initials of the first and middle name followed by your last name. Use your middle name and your last name. Or use a name, or initial, of someone who you're thankful to for inspiration or support. The person who taught you almost everything about writing, whatever. Your pen name itself could be a dedication.

Chilari

Staff
JC: Yes, JC does seem to flow well, doesn't it? I wonder why that might be? :angel: My brother, whose initials really are JC, goes by that amongst his friends.

For my part, now I've bought a domain of my name and am using it to develop a reputation as a writer, I'm committed. I guess if I ever return to academia I can use my initials instead, though there's already an academic journal article (peer reviewed and everything) where I was a contributor that has my first and last name. Oh well. I probably won't return to academia anyway, if I'm honest.

I do have a pen name on standby though, if I decide to write in a different genre and want to keep things separate.

Ireth

Myth Weaver
@Addison: In J.K. Rowling's case, she doesn't actually have a middle name, so she used the name of one of her relatives (grandmother, I think). And C.S. Lewis... well, his first and middle name are just embarrassing. Clive Staples. Seriously.

I'm probably going to go with my initials as well. K.L. Bergen doesn't look too bad.

Cinninamon

Dreamer