• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

What's your process?

pmmg

Myth Weaver
Question, particularly for are more successful or prolific writers, what is your writing process like?

Do you write everyday? write like its a full time job? Have a way of pushing through when you are blocked? Do things to avoid distractions? Whatever it is, what do you to make it work for you, especially if you think what you do might be useful to others if they knew it.

A. E. Lowan

Forum Mom
Leadership
This is an excellent question. I'm a full-time writer, so this is what I do all day. I write and I know things. ;) I'm part of a three-person team, so our process looks a little different than people who don't collaborate. One of us does development, one is our plotter, and I'm our drafter, which basically means I write whatever the other two tell me to, and then dress it up and take it dancing. The plotter creates detailed prewrite-style outlines for me and tries to keep a chapter or two ahead of me as we draft, and while I'm making pages the other two are working on shaping the rest of the book.

I'm someone who needs to edit as I go, so I'll reread a chapter or two every day to get back into the right headspace, and while I'm at it I'm polishing and making notes. And then I launch into new writing. This isn't an 8-hours and then knock off gig. I also do a fair bit of social media and working with other writers. There is also a great deal of caffeine involved. And then, by some miracle, the book ends, and we start the next one.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat