• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Writer-Editor challenge

I joined this forum to improve my craft and part of my craft as a writer is self-editing. I feel like I notice quite a few things about the things I have written and I do make some changes, but it all happens intuitively. There's no real understanding of the nuts and bolts of fiction writing involved.

Since I'm looking to self-publish, being good at self-editing will save me money on professional editing. This challenge is a way for me to gain some experience with the things underlying fiction, in a way I probably couldn't by editing my own work.

Here's my proposal:
  • I am willing to edit one novella of 30k-50k words, bear in mind: I'm an amateur.
  • In return, those writers that want to have me do this for them have to do the following:
    1. Provide a one page summary of your story.
    2. Provide an elevator pitch (see below).
    3. Make sure that your story is polished.
    4. In short, treat me like you would treat an actual professional editor. Provide a pitch along with the materials I mentioned above.
This might sound demanding, but if you think about, doing these manageable steps will force you to (1) clarify your story and (2) make your story better and more sellable. Remember: if you send a turd to your editor, there's not much he can do with it. A polished turd is still a turd.

An elevator pitch for an entertainment product should consist of four components:
1. Your product name and category
2. The main character’s ambition
3. The conflict he or she encounters
4. The real significance of the story

Here’s an example from a mythical project about the modern composer, Eric Whitacre: