• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

5 Truths and 1 Lie About Me, a New Member

Dawbreaker

Hello fellow fantasy nerds! Have I found my new home? I certainly hope so!

It's very nice to make your acquaintance. I've (once again) decided that I am making a big effort to get back into creative writing. I used to write all the time, but between fatherhood, marriage, and a career, my hobbies really took a back seat in life. I genuinely miss writing and whenever I do any writing at all in a day, even a 100-word story, I feel happier.

Before I start off getting into my 5 Truths and 1 Lie (and how about that clickbait eh? I try to stand out and have something of a need for showmanship, sorry!) I'll tell you a little bit about myself - and yes it's true.

I'm a father living in California and I work in the video game industry. Yes, it's awesome and yes it's also very hard (but rewarding). I have a wife and a son. My boy is my whole world and he's turning four years old soon. I'm a gamer at heart who loves to read fantasy and sci-fi books. I read every night and have since I was in fifth grade. My favorite author is Brandon Sanderson who could literally go rewrite the phone book and I'd probably happily review it as the best phone book ever written. My dad got me into the fantasy genre when I was a kid and my first set of books read was the Dragonlance series (the first six) which really changed my world. I'm also a HUUUUGE Star Trek and Star Wars fanatic. And yes the order of those things is correct.

My initial goal is to write a book. Not a good book, not a great book. Just a book. I don't even care if it's semi-coherent drunken mess, I just want to get my first book out there and done. Then another. After two or three, then I want to focus on making a good one. I hope that goal makes sense you, dear reader who has made it this far (THANK YOU!). If it doesn't I'll explain again later one day when we e-meet for coffee sometime.