• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask me about Celtic Mythology!

I am no expert, but I have spent years on my own time studying Celtic mythology both pre and post Christian. So if you have any questions about a particular myth, Celtic fey, gods or Arthurian legend please send them my way and I'll see if I can answer them. I also know plenty about Ancient Irish culture including Druidic tradition, ogham and plant/medicine lore.

Shreddies

Troubadour
Well, off the top of my head: I've been wondering for a while now about what was involved in Pre-Christian Celtic (or Irish?) wedding ceremonies.

Gurkhal

Auror
I've got a few questions! There are lots of things that I wonder about but hopefully this will at least come out somewhat coherent.

1. Are there are general themes that can be detected with Celtic warrior gods in their mythological place?

2. Did the Celts have a tradition of ancestor cults?

3. Was the mythology dominated by pan-Celtic deities or by local deities?

4. How prominent were goddesses in relation to gods in the mythology?

So, the Celts in Ireland were speculated to do a couple of things.

1) dance around the druid's bonfire at Beltaine (May 1st) and the couple would be married for a year and a day if they did not conceive a child.
2) Before Christainity was the main religion, but after it was introduced to Ireland many of the Irish pagans moved to have a druid preside over the handfasting. The head druid...(Archdruid if he were available) would invoke the gods and bless the couple. The two would drink from the same chalice on a stone or stump alter and the druid would tie a chord about their hands. Another interesting note, at this time it was considered bad luck to wed on Beltaine, as that was when the fairy queen would come from the mounds or forest and claim a human male consort, which meant the bridegroom would be claimed if he were to wed another on that day.