• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Books to improve writing?

Are books that teach writing worth it?

• Absolutely!

Votes: 9 47.4%
  • I don't think so.

Votes: 2 10.5%
  • They might, a little.

Votes: 8 42.1%

• Total voters

Game

Dreamer
As a novice writer, I've taken upon myself to improve my writing by doing two things:
-Read 80~120 pages everyday.
-Research writing techniques from time to time.

What I wanted to ask is; do you think books about 'how to write' such as "On Writing" (Stephen King) help? Or do they just limit you and/or waste your time?

Sheriff Woody

Troubadour
There are pieces of good advice to be found in almost any book on writing, but there is also plenty of bad advice to be found.

The best thing to do is learn as much as you possibly can and write a lot so that you can tell the good advice from the bad.

TWErvin2

Auror
"How to" books on writing can offer advice on the basics, but I believe that reading, re-reading, and studying published works and seeing how successful authors accomplished areas a writer might be struggling with such as dialogue, pacing, tackling a particular POV, description, characterization, etc. is the best method. The writer learns within the context of a piece and can then apply the lesson(s) learned by modifying the technique/what's learned to his/her own writing style and project.

I wish one answer was "depends on the book". I have a shelf full of books on writing. Some are excellent, some are mediocre. I don't keep the bad ones (and there are a lot of those).

I rather liked King's "On Writing". Also "The Writer's Journey", Card's classic "How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy", "The Novel Writer's Toolkit" by Bob Mayer, and "Write Great Fiction - Plot and Structure" by James Scott Bell.

Penpilot

Staff
Article Team