• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Children’s books

Rexenm

Inkling
Do you write for children, or still read their books. There is less restriction on books, and movies as well, these days, as well as themes. There is a nook in everyone’s bookcase, for children’s books, I’d imagine. I ask this, because whilst I once regarded children’s books as easy, I know think them hard. What goes on in the mind of a child, when they hear about these things, and are they amongst the minority when voicing their opinion.

There is a lot of good things to say about a lot of the fantasy children’s books I’ve read, but what about family books. There seems to be a market for it in movies?

pmmg

Myth Weaver
Well...there are a number of children's books I have memorized. I am an expert are 'Horton hears a who', and 'dont let the pigeon drive the bus', but...my kids are older now.

I dont write for children, and dont think I ever will. I dont think children under a certain age should be reading my books. I am not sure what that age is exactly, but I think 15+ might be appropriate. Course, some kids can take a lot more than others, that is not for me to decide.

I do think, if you want to make a killing in the market, make stuff parents can share with their kids, and you will roll in it.

Once, back in my reviewing days, I told someone I thought they would be really good at writing children's books and they really did not like that, so....lesson learned. I thought it would be a good thing for them, now I dont point people in that direction anymore.

Rexenm

Inkling
Once, back in my reviewing days, I told someone I thought they would be really good at writing children's books and they really did not like that, so....lesson learned.
I don’t get told a specific type of book. Just a book. Still half and half.

Skyfarer

Dreamer