• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Countries having different genre settings but set in one world. Is that even possible

N7Kryptonian

Hello. I’m new to worldbuilding and have started building my world last week. The world that I'm trying to make is a paranormal fantasy but as I was building the world I had an idea that I wanted to experiment but don't know how to approach this. The idea is each country in this world has a setting based on a sub-genre.

For example the types of countries I'm thinking to make are: One country that has a steampunk setting where the government is a absolute monarchy. Another one is a cyberpunk where a mega corporation runs the country.

Is an idea like this even possible? By “possible” I mean can it even make sense and fit in one world. And how can it? I'm having trouble trying to make sense of it. Are there even any stories that have a idea like this?

Drakevarg

Troubadour
I think it's doable to a point. One nation that's a hive of scum and villainy, natural habitat for a crime drama. Another that is a wild land of warring kingdoms, good for heroic fantasy. Another that's a tense covenant of squabbling royal houses, political drama. That sort of thing.

On the other hand, a steampunk country located in the same world and time period as a cyberpunk country? I think that would raise too many obvious questions in terms of why the gulf in technology is so vast and, even if they're equal but distinct, why these nations haven't adopted enough of each other's tech to make it more of a schizo tech setting across the board. Or if the cyberpunk is as more advanced as it seems, why the megacorp (whose entire reason for being is profit and expansion) hasn't just taken over the steampunk kingdom yet.

DeathtoTrite

Troubadour