• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Experts on city wall architecture needed

Jabrosky

Banned
For my story I've just written a brief scene which takes place near a city wall. The wall's main function is to protect the city's inhabitants from dinosaurs lurking in the outside jungle. Here are my questions:

1) How high should my walls be? Right now I describe them as being too high for a Brachiosaurus to peek over (think over 16 meters high). Is this too high for ancient/medieval city walls?

2) The walls are currently made of stone for maximum protection, but since the city has a loosely sub-Saharan African flavor I have toyed with making them out of dried mud Timbuktu-style. Would dried mud be effective protection against large animals such as dinosaurs, and how high could a mud structure get?

Chilari

Staff
I'm no expert, but I think you're fine. Quite apart from crusader castles like Krak de Chevaliers having pretty massive walls, the Egyptians were able to build huge structures - not just the pyramids, but also immense temple complexes. 16m shouldn't be trouble.

As for mud brick, you can certainly build massive structures with them. The pyramid-building civilisations of Central and South America did for their temples and pyramids. Not sure how effective they'd be at stopping dinosaurs, I don't think that's ever been tested for some reason. But I don't see why not. Most of the strength of the wall isn't the surface, but the sheer bulk of the whole wall. So it it's thick enough and well built it'll withstand everything - even time.

Ghost

Inkling
I wonder if you could also use sharpened stakes in the way people used to defend against cavalry charges...except very, very large.

Jabrosky

Banned
I wonder if you could also use sharpened stakes in the way people used to defend against cavalry charges...except very, very large.