• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Greetings :)

Vallir

Well it's now 5am and I've been reading various threads here for hours, so thought I might as well say hello. Sleep's over-rated anyway.

Actually, I take that last bit back. Must be sleep deprivation talking.

Aaaaaanyway, great site you got here! Friendly people and lots of useful information. I thought I knew a fair bit about swords and armour until i stumbled in from the cold :p

So then, I'll ramble about myself for a bit (sorry in advance). I'm a wannabe writer afflicted with an unswerving obsession for fantasy literature of any shape or description, although I prefer it to taste rather strongly of sarcasm and violence. I love fantasy because of the scope it offers, because there exists within every story the potential for anything and everything to happen...it's not my fault that what I like is for two people to call each other names and then start a war. I also love thinking about how characters' incremental decisions can eventually affect the entire world.

I've been writing silly stories since I was old enough to hold a pen and tell tales of teachers turning into witches (not so popular in school), but had a crisis of confidence and fell out of love with it in my twenties. These days I write because I love it, even if I never seem to get anything finished. Sometimes I tell people I'm writing when I actually spend 8 hours rearranging the words in a sentence, over and over, until I forget what I was even trying to say. I'm an un-educated, self-taught buffoon, and I'm about 300 pages in with what I jokingly refer to as a 'novel'; I might post something in the showcase forum but public places scare me, even on the net. Oh, and I'd need to take some swearing out.