• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hail from the frozen North!

Good day to everybody.

I've been a writer my whole life, although most of it I've been working in my native language, Finnish, which is why I'm just now popping up on international forums. The reason why I made the switch to English is my dear wife and my most important critic, who happens to be American. I don't have words to describe the meaning of her input, the continuous support and encouragement that eventually led me to open my website and begin to push my stories out in the public. I worked for 6 years to hone my skill in English, for I wanted to treat the language I'm writing in with utmost respect and care. I'm still working hard to improve, but then again, aren't we all? For the last 4 years or so I've been releasing stories on different writing sites, and the feedback has been mostly positive, which encouraged me to continue.

I'm not really sure how to describe my writing style or genres they tap into, but some kind of dark, medieval, low fantasy comes to mind. I've done a lot of world building, and as a result all my fantasy stories take place in the same setting. I've also written some horror and post-apocalyptic short stories in the heat of the moment, but never truly dived any deeper into those genres.

This seems like a great forum for ambitious writers constantly working to become better at the craft, so I'm really excited to be an active and contributing part of it.

Best regards,
Vincent

Last edited:

Russ

Istar
Welcome aboard VL! It is always great to have a new member from the nation that has produced just about every rally driver worth mentioning.

It is great to hear you have strong support from your wife. My wife is a professional writer and I think working together and encouraging each other has been very good for both of us.