• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hail and well met!

Knight Viking

Hello!

I stumbled upon this community looking for a list of names used for magic-users. Hoping that time spent here will bear fruit for my writing and that I may help others as well.

A little about me: My name is Taylor. I've been working on building a fantasy world for about five years now. Progress has come in fits and starts as I just finished college last year and worked full-time to put myself through it. However, my liberated time has given me the chance to actually begin writing narrative! Nevertheless, the world remains under construction.

A little about my world: In the cyclical void of A'hül, in the light of Ljös, revolves a world called Padar. Padar is the jewel of A'hül and the envy of the gods; a world of vast oceans teaming with life and life-giving, living forests and waking jungles, immense deserts, and massive mountainscapes. It is a world of stargazing elves and enigmatic fae; of younger races whose squabbles and politics reflect the former's ancient history. Far from the broken archipelago called the Cradle of Man, humanity has established superiority on Tyramh. Five powerful nations have risen since the world was shaken by their arrival on Tyramh (pronounced, teer-AHV).

To quell the wars and conflicts of humanity, to seek peace and control those humans descended from the elder races, the elves and fae established the Second Order of Wyrach, mirroring a similar group that passed into time some thousand years prior. This knightly order is made up of mortal who can manipulate natural forces, commonly called wyr or magic. individuals born descended of the elder (elves), fairer (fae), or skilled (both) who exhibit the Ainarö's'erœmh, a mental bond to a Löd Star, providing them the mental alacrity to understand and incant the wyrwords - a language of inherent meaning - and the energy to cast and shape wyr.