• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hard Decisions to Make

What if you feel that a WIP of yours is not worth finishing? What do you do?

To clarify, I don't feel that my WIP (Red Nights, the progress of which I've been tracking on Writers Work for a couple years) really is not worth finishing. Closer to the truth is that I feel I lack the motivation to finish it, there is simply so much work involved in getting it into a readable state that it will take massive amounts of time and effort to complete, and that it's not publishable and is unlikely to be read by anyone. Dire pronouncements for something I have spent two years working on.

I started a third draft very recently. This was after many months of not working on it, and after not finishing the second draft at all. It so happens that the job feels just as overwhelming when I'm starting over versus when I'm desperately clawing my way to an ending that keeps getting farther and farther away. The reality is that getting the book into a form that holds itself together will take much more time. It will take many more hours spent at the computer and I simply have no motivation for it anymore. It's a massive job, and that's just finishing this book. To really finish the story, I'll need to write a sequel.

I've also come to the conclusion that I really can't publish this, owing to the fact that there are a couple uncannily similar works already out there (I just read one of them), similar enough to raise eyebrows despite the fact that I couldn't have known about either when I started writing. Not a huge problem if you have the energy and time for revision and rethinking of some things, but I don't. I just want to be done. But it keeps getting harder and harder.

Also, almost everyone who wanted to read the book in the first place is no longer in contact with me. I lost almost all my friends recently.