• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hello from North Carolina

DaveO

Hello to everyone.
I'm a fifty year old newbie. It's difficult to believe that you can find something to be new at after fifty years. Maybe I should reassess being a newbie, I've been writing for forty five years. Newbie is not exactly an accurate term. Let me begin again. Ahem. I'm David and I've finally decided that I want to be more serious about getting my writing out in front of readers. I'm here to hopefully improve my skills and lend support to other writers.
I will be adding comments if I think I have something significant to say, otherwise I will probably be lurking in the dark corners and spying into others lives.

Thanks everyone,
David

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
Hail and well met DaveO
A newbie is chronological, it's a state of mind. At least I think so. I know writers who are in the business for 30+ years [and successful aka making their living by writing], who still consider themselves new writers with lots to learn.
Serious or not... this is a great site for support, information, and encouragement [and procrastination and diversion, if needed].
Lurkers are welcome but feel free to dive in with all feet, hands and other appendages.

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
Welcome, DaveO. That's where I was a few years ago, more or less the same situation. There really should be a term for us, the Newly Serious.

"Determined" will do, until something better comes along.

Russ

Istar
Hello to everyone.
I'm a fifty year old newbie. It's difficult to believe that you can find something to be new at after fifty years. Maybe I should reassess being a newbie, I've been writing for forty five years. Newbie is not exactly an accurate term. Let me begin again. Ahem. I'm David and I've finally decided that I want to be more serious about getting my writing out in front of readers. I'm here to hopefully improve my skills and lend support to other writers.