• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

hints on how build worlds?

ok i am new to writing stories respectively and i am dyslexic(i have no problem reading it is putting my thoughts from head down) now i have several ideas/projects each unique in their way. i know how to create characters as i have done the past write on the fly short stories. now trying to come up with proper world building skills. cities, groups, politics rules etc trying to get into habit of semi planning. it take me more time than average person to write. one of my ideas is kind of complex but creating the rules for the world gives me headache i try to do come up with ways to sort out the ideas in my head . i could be wrong it could be simple. the idea has two main protagonist while one becomes the mentor figure of the the second one eventually, the second protagonist(a child of the slums). 1 i am trying to figure out the main city breakdown 2. the class sub systems within upper class and the lower class. as it very dark fantasy world that has inquisitor system for judge types with their own guards.my mind is every where trying to sort things

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
the idea has two main protagonist while one becomes the mentor figure of the the second one eventually, the second protagonist(a child of the slums). 1 i am trying to figure out the main city breakdown 2. the class sub systems within upper class and the lower class. as it very dark fantasy world that has inquisitor system for judge types with their own guards.

First of all do some research looking for inspiration. My first thought was that you should read more about the Caste system in India and maybe see the movie, Slumdog Millionaire. You're going to need the same kind of detail and hardship while looking for a place you can add your own level of creativity.