• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

How unreliable can a narrator be?

Trick

Auror
My MC is the narrator because it is a FP memoir style WIP. There comes a point where someone important to him is murdered and he finds their body. He does not have a clue who murdered them. He later goes to prison for five years and some time after escaping witnesses a murder that leaves the victim's body in much the same state as that of his loved one. His memory is not as perfect as he wants the reader to believe and there are differences he does not notice. He assumes that the murderer he sees in action is guilty of both crimes and pursues vengeance which is vital to the story. He, of course, is wrong and later finds out who his loved one's real killer was. He is writing all of this and clearly knows the truth as he does so and doesn't reveal it to the reader because it would ruin the book. This is my first attempt at memoir style so I'm not sure if the same rules apply about keeping secrets from the reader.

Since he didn't know at the time, is it ok not to reveal the truth until later? I think it is but I don't want inexperience or my own misunderstanding to take my awesome twist and cheapen it.

Devor

Fiery Keeper of the Hat
cThe whole idea of an unreliable narrator comes from a murder mystery story in which the narrator turns out to be the killer. And readers saw the scene in which the victim died, early on, from the killer's POV, with just a few details left out. Like how the narrator was stabbing him (or something).

So you can pull off a narrator that's pretty far off the mark, if you need to. Your case shouldn't be an issue, just do it well.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
The book club read this month, Gone Girl, has two unreliable narrators who are telling the story. They certainly hold back information. You might take a look at that to get an idea.

Trick

Auror