• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Is my series worth writing?

Tinawat42

Hi, my name's Tina, I'm new to writing & I wanted to know if my idea for my first series is worth it or not.
A young woman who can communicate with spirits is caught trying to bring back the ghost of her dead friend by a powerful (female) necromancer & blackmailed into helping her get back at her rival. This magician threatens to tell the religious/government leaders who fear & worship the dead about her actions, which would lead to her being put to death for heresy, so the girl (Claire) gets caught up in a world of spirits, black magic & political/reliious corruption.
I'm REALLY nervous that this is a stupid/lame/melodramatic idea for a story so any input (even constructive criticism) would be great. Thank you!

Klee Shay

Troubadour
There aren't any stupid/lame/melodramatic ideas. There are, however, ideas that are never realised and ideas that become more than just ideas. As long as the story comes from you (appropriately cliche, don't you think?) it's worth running with it.

Kelise

Maester
Any idea can be written. It comes down to how you write it, and whether your way of writing works.

The Din

Troubadour
Three vague answers in a row, you are special... Sounds like a good idea, just don't let it turn into more twilight drivel. (Unless you want to sell out and make some money.) Try adding some sex and violence, just don't let it turn into more trueblood drivel. (Unless you want to sell out and make some money.)

In the scenario you proposed, I'd like to see the necromancer turn out good, only desperate. Anyway, she dies and leaves Claire wondering what could have been worth stooping to blackmail... Just an idea, I'm sure how ever you spin it will kick arse.

Last edited:

Queshire

Istar
Really, that's a loaded question if there ever was one, OF COURSE We're going to say yes! What kind of bastards wouldn't!