• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Lawyers come! Does the content of a book affect its legal standing beyond the public domain?

Ban

Troglodytic Trouvère
Article Team
Out of sheer curiosity, does anyone know if wishes explicitly expressed in a work are legally binding beyond the end of one's copyright? If for example I wrote "Hollywood is never allowed to adapt this book" would that have any legal standing in court (specifically US in this case) or do you reckon that would be rendered null before a judge? Again, this is just out of curiosity. I'm not terribly concerned over what happens many, many millennia from now... or decades if we still haven't fixed the longevity question by then.

Queshire

Istar
I'm not a lawyer, but as far as I'm aware that wouldn't do anything.

There's a reason Disney's pushed to stretch copyright length longer and longer.

Reactions: Ban

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
Again not a lawyer...
But isn't copyright is about ownership and control, not the author's wishes or intent?
As I see it whoever gets/inherits the copyright can do whatever they like with it, unless they have agreed to limitations before the author/creator's death.
A sort of inverted prenup.

pmmg

Myth Weaver
I think you would need an estate plan, and your descendants would have to honor it. Sooner or later, no one will care, but it will probably always be in the wiki articles that you did such.

Copyright is a slippery ugly thing as in does it actually even exist? Probably not.

But you writing something like that in your book is likely so deter a Hollywood director, especially if a book has a high enough fan base, adapting it into film against the authors wishes is one thing, but to do it against its fans wishes is probably creative suicide. Either that or it becomes more tantalising.

But will your words be legally binding? Probably not no. Copyright law also differs from country to country, never mind the whole stealing thing.