• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Not sure where to go now

Daft

I have a world I have been working on for a few years now, and I am wondering the easiest way to break into the writing phase. I have also been looking for a writing forum that focuses around fantasy. Please help me with any suggestions! I look to work on the writing during NaNoWriMo. Also I was wanting some feedback on my high fantasy work-in-progress.
My world, Aeia: http://bit.ly/17BoY9p

GeekDavid

Auror
Ask yourself a simple "what if" question about your main character (or if you have no character designated as the "main" one yet, pick one). It should be something like, "what if this character got sent on a mission to retrieve a magical artifact" or something like that.

All stories start with a "what if" question. :D

Daft

I will definitely have to try that! Oh, how simple the answer might be!
To make this thread more...worthwhile, my ACTUAL question is how much time is too much time when it comes to canon creation and world-making? I am enjoying doing the worldmaking so much it has stifled my progress into the actual writing of the book itself. Mostly fractured short stories are what I end up with. At this point, I am planning to compile these short stories into a compendium of this world's inhabitants. Should I feel bad that I enjoy the world-making more than the writing? Or should I have reversed my approach and create the world around the story?

GeekDavid

Auror
In my admittedly limited experience, every author is different. Some go right into the writing phase, some wait till they have a complete outline with every scene worked out... most are somewhere in the middle.

Personally, if you're doing NaNo (and so am I), wait till Nov. 1 then hit it hard. But you gotta make yourself put the world building aside on the morning of the 1st, and that might be difficult.

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
I will definitely have to try that! Oh, how simple the answer might be!