• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Prologues

Jordan

Dreamer
I'm new to the writing community and am just learning that if your book has a prologue, you're asking to have your manuscript tossed in the bin by the majority of agents, and editors. I was surprised by this at first, but then started reviewing some of my favorite books from the past ten years and noticed that they either didn't have a prologue, or there was one, but it was very sneakily snuck into the first chapter of the book in a creative way.
What do you all think about this move away from the use of prologue? Do you think that a prologue is often a crutch for back story, or artificially inciting action?
I'm currently work shopping ways to incorporate a more interesting and contemporary use of a prologue in my current book and would love to hear all of your thoughts about what you find important in a prologue, what you've seen contemporary fantasy (both YA and adult fantasy writers) doing to make this work in their story telling for today's readers.
I try very hard to keep thoughts of publishing and everything that comes with that out of my mind while drafting, but that specter will always hang over me, and inspire thoughts like this.

Incanus

Auror
I’ve never understood the aversion to prologues myself. I’ve read good books that have them, and good books that don’t have them. The prologue, or lack thereof, made no difference that I could see. They fit some stories, but not others. I’ve also tried to find a good book with a bad prologue, and I’ve yet to see a single example of this.

I started a thread a month or so ago called ‘A Question about Prologues’; I think it fell back to the second or third page of this forum a while ago. It deals with trying to sneak in a prologue into Chapter One, so as to avoid the issue. You might find some of the responses there of interest.