• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Society of Creative Anachronism (SCA)

Philip Overby

Staff
Article Team
I've seem some members post about his before, but I don't know much about it. I am planning to join a group here in Tokyo that does medieval chivalry training (yeah, in Japan, go figure), complete with sword training and the like. I'm curious to get opinions of people who have had something to do with the SCA and what your experiences have been.

Some questions (please bear with me):

1. Does it hurt? I was a pro wrestler in the past so I can deal with pain, but surely your knuckles get whacked or people suffer injuries doing this if they're using real weapons (albeit blunted). Just curious how many injuries I'm going to get.

2. How time consuming is it? I only plan to go maybe once a week to this place in Tokyo, which is over an hour and a half away. My main interest was learning sword play to enter tournaments, because I think that is so awesome!

3. Is it expensive? I know some people spend loads of money on various swords, pieces of armor, etc. so I was just wondering as a casual hobbyist, how much money can I expect to pay? This place has a monthly rate of about 10,000 yen (100 bucks) and they have all the equipment there, so I don't think I'd have to pay too much.

4. Some positive experiences? What are some awesome experiences you've had from joining?

Anyway, just some questions from a newbie. I'm interested to see what I'm getting into. The only thing I've done like this before was pro wrestling and I was told I was pretty good at playing a character by complete strangers a lot. And I did a Civil War reenactment once, which was...interesting.

Any ideas would be appreciated! Thanks1

Codey Amprim

Staff
Article Team