• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

The Description Sweet Spot

Shockley

Maester
Well, first thread time.

One of the things that has become very clear to me (especially lately) is the major difference between schools of thought when it comes to describing a scene. There is, of course, the school that favors minimal description and prefer to focus all of the action on the characters. I'll admit, this is how I tend to write when I'm writing in my main genre (Westerns) but there's something different about fantasy: From the Pulp writers on, there seems to be a huge trend to describe things to the limits of your ability. There are exceptions, of course (Steinbeck describes like a mother), but that seems to be the general rule. I know there are some people who consider this to be the line where good writers and bad writers are decided, so it is somewhat important to me.

Since I'm new to writing fantasy, I need help on this. Or, at least, opinions.

What do you think of using description in your work?

Would you rather under-describe or over-describe a scene, if you couldn't find the sweet spot? As a reader, which would you prefer?

How do you, personally, know when you've gone too far?

I'm certain other questions/thoughts will pop into my head as this gets discussed.

Jabrosky

Banned
I'm one of those writers who would love to describe things in great detail but fears the accusation of purple prose or slowing the pace down. This may be part of the reason my writing style tends to be more terse than I want.

That said, a little description can be beneficial if you're writing a fantasy, sci-fi, or historical setting that most people won't know intimately. It can help set the mood or give people a feel for the world and its characters, and sometimes it's even necessary if you want your characters visualized a certain way.