• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Themes for vampires

Tom

Istar
Hmm...'nother thought about my vampires.

They can't feel the cold and are immune to it, can only feel extreme heat (translates as pain), and have muted pain reception. Will longs to feel heat and warmth again, but because he's a vampire, has a natural affinity to cold. What comes to mind when you think about that?

Tom

Istar
Oh wow, that's dead-on, Phillip.

I know when a lot of people think of death, they think blood, fear, rage...basically the color red. I'm an artist and a highly visual person, and I often think in colors (which is, yeah, kinda weird). When I think of death, I think of cold, a winter's night, quiet fear, surrender to the inevitable, ice...death comes across as a cold, dark, pure blue to me.

It's not as dramatic as Hollywood says it is, no "rage, rage against the dying of the light". It's quiet, and sad, and gentle.

Okay, enough of me being vaguely (and badly) poetic. Does that description of death make sense? And does it fit into the themes I've chosen for my story?

Philster401

Maester
I'm an artist also, not a very good one, but I'm taking art classes to get better. Also yes they seem to fit perfectly with vampires and that description defines death perfectly in my opinion

FarmerBrown

Troubadour
I know when a lot of people think of death, they think blood, fear, rage...basically the color red....death comes across as a cold, dark, pure blue to me.

It's not as dramatic as Hollywood says it is, no "rage, rage against the dying of the light". It's quiet, and sad, and gentle.

Okay, enough of me being vaguely (and badly) poetic. Does that description of death make sense? And does it fit into the themes I've chosen for my story?