• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

To those who make/run Mythic Worlds...

Ireth

Myth Weaver
...how do you do it?

I have two ideas for tabletop-style RPGs swimming around in my head. One's considerably more developed than the other as far as backstory and character sheets and stuff go, but I feel like I know more about the subject matter of the other one.

On the other hand, I have zero experience running a plot that isn't purely text-based and freeform, so I'm afraid of railroading people's characters if I do come up with an actual plot for either of these. Also, I almost want more to play in my own world alongside others than to try running a story for other people. Inventing NPCs with names and stuff is hard. XD Also I stink at drawing, so maps would be difficult.

I can post my ideas for those who want to know them, but I make no promises regarding whether or not either will amount to anything.

Reilith

Sage
Oooh, I am really interested in this. I am an avid D&D player, a DM in attempt and I've played a few different rpg worlds with my crew at home. If you have any specific questions, I am more than happy to help you out!

Reaver

Staff
...how do you do it?

I have two ideas for tabletop-style RPGs swimming around in my head. One's considerably more developed than the other as far as backstory and character sheets and stuff go, but I feel like I know more about the subject matter of the other one.

On the other hand, I have zero experience running a plot that isn't purely text-based and freeform, so I'm afraid of railroading people's characters if I do come up with an actual plot for either of these. Also, I almost want more to play in my own world alongside others than to try running a story for other people. Inventing NPCs with names and stuff is hard. XD Also I stink at drawing, so maps would be difficult.