• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Total newb alert

Dragon tea

Dreamer
Hello everyone. I am an aspiring-wannabe-maybe-someday-before-I-die author. The only novel experience I have is reading them. I LOVE to read. Not much I'd rather do honestly, but my 3 yo does't give me the oportunity unless he's asleep or not in the house 🤣

I've never decided I was going to SERIOUSLY try and wrrite anything before, but I am jotting down any ideas that come to me in one way or other. I lsay seriously, because I'm pretty sure there are old exercise books from when I was like 12-23 in which I may have started writing something that I thought was brilliant, only to rediscover it weeks or years later and shiver with disgust and embarrassment! But I have always dreamed of writing my own novel someday. I decided to join this forum because this is damned scary and daunting!! I never would have thought that research was necessary for something like a fantasy or sci-fi novel!?

I may not post much while here, but since there is an OVERWHELMING number of existing threads and forums, I apologize in advance if I ask a question that has already been discussed. I am very much looking forward to getting some much needed advice to maybe help me actually accomplish this dream. Oh yeah, no one else knows, so shh! don't tell 🙃

ThinkerX

Myth Weaver
Welcome.

First bit of advice -to become a writer, one must write. Try getting into the daily habit of writing something every day.

Second bit of advice - Your first effort - your 'first draft' - will bear scant resemblance to the ideas in your head. Don't worry about it. Rule of thumb is the first draft sucks - it is just words, a starting point. Regardless of how bad it seems, don't give up or go back and attempt to rewrite it. Instead, make a few notes and press on.

Those are the biggies common to pretty much all genres.

A couple other points considered a bit debatable by some.